RA2, purely internal router situation...

Gamer's Internet Tunnel, formerly Gamer's IPX Tunnel

RA2, purely internal router situation...

Postby zoulias » Wed Jul 06, 2005 9:11 am

Me and a friend are both behind the same router on an internal network.
I am 192.168.1.2
He is 192.168.1.6
Modem/Router is 192.168.1.1

We both have IPX protocol installed on XP, and neither can see the other when playing ra2 in the netowrk lobby. Looking around GIT was touted as a 'fix;.

We both have only XP firewall, for which ra2 has been allowed, and GIT.

My comp is a DMZ, I havent set up any port forwarding for his.
We just want to be able to play together!
Our IPX network numbers are set the same, something like 0000002

What GIT settings (inc ip) should I use and should I be forwarding ports from the router to his/my comp?
Thanks
zoulias
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 9:05 am

Postby karma » Wed Jul 06, 2005 9:31 am

Nahhh, you don't need git for this. Git is for making two physically separate LANs see each other through a tunnel. If you can't connect anyway, on the same Lan, Git isn't going to work. You need all layers of OSI communicating before Git can work.

But there is hope.

You must do this on each computer.

Go into RA2, main menu, go to Options. Click Network. Under "Network Card", pick the group of letters & numbers that match with your NIC's MAC address. In most cases, I've seen the correct option listed as the 2nd on that list. When done, click OK. Go to main menu, and network lobby. You should see each other there.
karma
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 7:42 am
Location: yokosuka japan

Postby zoulias » Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:40 am

Thanks, I already had that done, and it doesnt work, neither can see the other still :-(
zoulias
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 9:05 am

Postby Bryan » Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:48 am

This is a very handy article: http://www.planetcnc.com/features/techt ... workGuide/

Remember: Network Number, same - Internal Network Number, different.


Hope this helps
Bryan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:44 am

Postby zoulias » Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:24 pm

ta - did have that wrong - dont know if it now works tho cos my mates at home for the hols.
zoulias
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 9:05 am


Return to GIT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron