Starcraft, ok for about 30 sec. Help?

Gamer's Internet Tunnel, formerly Gamer's IPX Tunnel

Starcraft, ok for about 30 sec. Help?

Postby Talelf » Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:11 pm

Ok, we can get starcraft to work through GIT fine, we can see each others games and log into them and even start them, until after about 30 seconds after starting the game, my freinds router dies ( says connected, although isnt actually) and he needs a restart. Any thoughts?

Thanks
Talelf
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:05 pm

Postby karma » Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:49 am

you may be experiencing mass network congestion.

are you playing starcraft using ipx or udp?
I have had success with git playing starcraft both ipx and udp.

check the dune2000 post for git ipx settings


obviously you already have the basic git connection working
here are the git settings for starcraft udp:
(a compatible ip network) *not required for ipx*
git cfg:
tcp/udp ports 6111-6113 only
git adv cfg:
802.2
eth ii
arp
zlib
tcp
udp
icmp
match source port
don't send routable


that's it.

let me know how it goes

--rob
karma
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 7:42 am
Location: yokosuka japan

Postby Talelf » Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:02 am

we have a lot more ports open on routers etc than the 3 you have said. Would lessening those make a difference? got something like 6110-6120open i think?
Talelf
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:05 pm

Postby karma » Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:13 pm

which starcraft multiplayer mode are you using, ipx or udp?

generally, if you have more ports open in Git, unnecessary traffic will be captured, which can lag your connection. for example, if you include port 80, any http traffic on your computer will be tunneled. you don't really need your friend seeing your http traffic, do you? therefore, capturing & tunneling extra ports is unnecessary and can cause lag.

as I said, I have played starcraft using both ipx and udp through git. No lag in lobby, no lag in game. I have a typical adsl connection, keeping in mind that the git connection will only be as fast as the slowest upstream speed involved.

can you screencap your cfg & adv cfg? you can take out the ip address connection part if you want.

--rob
karma
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 7:42 am
Location: yokosuka japan

Postby Talelf » Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:14 am

heres a screen cap of my config's

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y256/Talelf/cap2.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y256/Talelf/cap1.jpg

We are using UDP, cos we thougth it would be easier.

Could it just be my friends router, because for some reason, after it "crashes" he needs to power it down, start it up again (to get a new ip), before we can see each others game etc.

Cheers
Talelf
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:05 pm

Postby karma » Fri Sep 02, 2005 1:34 am

Your screen captures look ok...except add port 6111 to starcraft tcp/udp git ports. You have the ipx ports forwarded, but no ipx settings in adv cfg. To use starcraft ipx, I suggest checkmarking ipx, nlsp, echo, error, rip. You're right though; udp is easier.

Make sure your friend's git cfg & advanced config matches yours, with the obvious exception of ip address. Ports, checkmarks, everything else must match. My suspicion is that your friend has more ports forwarded than he should.
karma
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 7:42 am
Location: yokosuka japan

reply

Postby Talelf » Mon Sep 05, 2005 8:26 am

Thanks for the help Karma and others, im Talelfs friend just thought id give an update,
well my set up is the same as far as the congif goes the trouble we seem to have is this
git seems to communicate randomly as in setting dont change then it will communicate but the mac code will be on a 30 sec countdown, but then eventually with a bit of random fiddling it will work, we start up starcraft and then im told (30 secs later from joining game) that Talelf is booted although its me that is, my connection (to router) stays up but the net dies, the connection wont then repair its self (cant assign ip) until i power cycle the router. Last time i tried GIT i restarted my sytem only to recieve a black screen of death each time the wirelss tried to hook up, I use a belkin 54g wireless router and have tried with and without firwalls, DMZ's etc, I follwed the very helpfull setup guides posted as stickys on the forum, but this does seem like a strange issue, i am very noobish when it comes to networking so it could be something very simple, I hope you guys get some intrest out of trying to solve this one, all help is gratefully received..ps this wouldnt have been a problem if i hadnt lost my starcraft insitlation code
same thing happend when forwarding less ports i will today try starting from scratch
Talelf
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:05 pm

Postby karma » Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:24 am

strange. have you had any luck starting over? here's another tip.

Check out GIT logging information. If you have been logging with GIT, check out the logs for the times between establishing connection, starting game, and lag out. check the timestamps; you can see how saturated your tunnel gets by looking at the difference between timestamps of forwarded packets. I have a 288kbps upstream. I've seen 40 udp starcraft packets per second being forwarded from me, in a lagless game. Check out your upstream speed and how many packets per second have status 'ok'.

here is an entry in forwarded.log which was one of the 40 per second.

[Thu Jun 30 19:22:59 2005] network: hw:00:30:1b:b1:f4:b0 EthernetII IPv4 UDP to:192.168.0.100:6112 from:192.168.0.12:6112 'ok'

Basically, that breaks down to.. timestamp, nic card, protocol, to host:port, from host:port, status.

If you have not been logging already, rightclick git tray icon, select logging, turn on all. Note the time, make your git connection, observe network crash.. again note the time. Then go back through your logs and see how traffic behaved. There might be a clue there.

--rob
karma
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 7:42 am
Location: yokosuka japan


Return to GIT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron