GIT and SOCOM II?

Gamer's Internet Tunnel, formerly Gamer's IPX Tunnel

GIT and SOCOM II?

Postby GITaroo » Mon Nov 10, 2003 6:07 am

Hi.

My friend and I are trying to setup a LAN in SOCOM II using GIT 0.96 but we aren't able to stablish a game connection. SOCOM II is unable to see any game created. :?

I've attached some information from Network Probe 0.5 obtained in my LAN. I'm not a expert in networks so if you can help it would be apreciated. :)

If you need more information, please let me know.

TIA

Code: Select all
Network Probe 0.5
=================
- We are behind a router for connecting to Internet.
- There is no 192.168.0.3 IP in my LAN neither 192.168.0.5 IP in his LAN.
- 'Packets in' and 'bytes in' are 0 in console adapters using protocol UDP:3658.
- Mac addresses and public IPs are masked.

HOSTS USING THIS PROTOCOL
              host name    |address      |protocol         |packets in|bytes in|packets out|bytes out|
              -------------|-------------|-----------------|----------|--------|-----------|---------|
              192.168.0.255|192.168.0.255|ether.IP.UDP.3658|        74|    5476|          0|        0|
His PS2 IP -> 192.168.0.3  |192.168.0.3  |ether.IP.UDP.3658|         0|       0|         24|     1776|
My PS2 IP --> 192.168.0.5  |192.168.0.5  |ether.IP.UDP.3658|         0|       0|         50|     3700|

PROTOCOLS USED BY THIS HOST
host name    |address      |protocol         |packets in|bytes in|packets out|bytes out|
-------------|-------------|-----------------|----------|--------|-----------|---------|
192.168.0.3  |192.168.0.3  |ether.IP.UDP.3658|         0|       0|         27|     1998|

PROTOCOLS USED BY THIS HOST
host name    |address      |protocol         |packets in|bytes in|packets out|bytes out|
-------------|-------------|-----------------|----------|--------|-----------|---------|
192.168.0.5  |192.168.0.5  |ether.ARP        |         1|      42|          2|      120|
192.168.0.5  |192.168.0.5  |ether.IP.ICMP    |         4|     352|          7|      604|
192.168.0.5  |192.168.0.5  |ether.IP.UDP.3658|         0|       0|         52|     3848|

NETWORK CARDS
               mac address      |ip address     |host     |vendor                           |
               -----------------|---------------|---------|---------------------------------|
               ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff|255.255.255.255|Broadcast|Broadcast                        |
His adapter -> A:A:AA:A:AA:AA   |0.0.0.0        |unknown  |Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.|
My adapter --> B:B:BB:B:BB:BB   |0.0.0.0        |unknown  |Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.|

               mac address      |ip address     |packets in|bytes in|packets out|bytes out|
               -----------------|---------------|---------|---------|-----------|---------|
               ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff|255.255.255.255|       276|   27237|          0|        0|
His adapter -> A:A:AA:A:AA:AA   |0.0.0.0        |         0|       0|         50|     3700|
My adapter --> B:B:BB:B:BB:BB   |0.0.0.0        |         5|     394|         85|     6334|

               mac address      |broadcast packets|broadcast bytes|multicast packets|multicast bytes|
               -----------------|-----------------|---------------|-----------------|---------------|
               ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff|                0|              0|                0|              0|
His adapter -> A:A:AA:A:AA:AA   |               50|           3700|                0|              0|
My adapter --> B:B:BB:B:BB:BB   |               78|           5730|                0|              0|

PROTOCOLS
protocol  name   |protocol port |description                                          |packets|bytes|
-----------------|--------------|-----------------------------------------------------|-------|-----|
ether.IP.ICMP    |1.2048.1      |Internet Control Message           [RFC792]          |      3|  210|
ether.IP.UDP.3658|1.2048.17.3658|User Datagram                  [RFC768,JBP] port 3658|      3|  180|
ether.ARP        |1.2054        |ARP                                                  |      2|  102|


NAT Setup in Router
===================
Port 213 forwarded to GIT computer


GIT v0.96 Setup
==============
WinPcap 3.0.1 (I've got the same result with 2.3 version)

Configuration Dialog Box
------------------------
Forward to what hosts?
XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:213 (UDP - fastest!)
Forward which TCP/UDP ports?
3658

Advanced Configuration Dialog Box
---------------------------------
Look at frames on which device?
My network card
Look into which frame types?
Ethernet II
Forward which IPX packet types?
IPX (I know it's not necessary but it came checked)
Forward which IPv4 protocols?
UDP

Sample from FORWARDED.LOG
-------------------------
...
[DATE TIME] network: EthernetII IPv4 UDP to:192.168.0.255:3658 from:192.168.0.5:3658 'ok'
[DATE TIME] network: EthernetII IPv4 UDP to:192.168.0.255:3658 from:192.168.0.5:3658 'ok'
[DATE TIME] network: EthernetII IPv4 UDP to:192.168.0.255:3658 from:192.168.0.5:3658 'ok'
...

Sample from INCOMING.LOG
------------------------
...
[DATE TIME] XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX: EthernetII IPv4 UDP to:192.168.0.255:3658 from:192.168.0.3:3658 'ok'
[DATE TIME] XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX: EthernetII IPv4 UDP to:192.168.0.255:3658 from:192.168.0.3:3658 'ok'
[DATE TIME] XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX: EthernetII IPv4 UDP to:192.168.0.255:3658 from:192.168.0.3:3658 'ok'
...
GITaroo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 3:44 am

Postby andreadg84 » Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:42 pm

SORRY FOR MY TERRIBLE ENGLISH!!!!!!
:oops: :oops:

Hi, I've a problem with SOCOM2. Sfortunately i can't manage to play in lan with a friend of mine by a program git. gitaroo's indications aren't clear at all so i wanted a better guide to risolve my problem. Thanks
andreadg84
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:09 pm

Socom 2 Lan setup with GIT

Postby markps2it » Tue Dec 16, 2003 3:50 pm

Hi
I've seen and tryed GIT software and i think that it is awesome :)

i have a question to ask though.... i've seen the tutorial with time splitter 2 and i think taht it is possible to play socom 2 too in the same way.

I tryed with a friend to configure ps2 and GIT IP's , but with no resoluts :(

I want to ak you how to configure git , Ps2 , and pc's network adapter.

Thanx in advance :))
markps2it
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 3:39 pm
Location: Taranto

the same here!

Postby ranma » Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:47 pm

hello,
i have the same problem with SOCOM-2 as you guys.
i really would like to play it with my friends over LAN option,but how??With GIT it doesnt seem to work,.. :( :( :( :( I can play only Time Spliters2,but nothing more...
please help someone!!!
________
FJ
Last edited by ranma on Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ranma
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:41 pm

hoi hoi

Postby ranma » Thu Jan 22, 2004 6:26 am

i just discovered one thing:

Re: Socom Voice Question.. ports.. Options



If you're using IP Masquerading (IPmasq), or Network Address Translation (NAT), there's a few ports you'll need to tell your firewall/proxy to forward on to your Playstation 2. SOCOM: US Navy Seals uses TCP ports 10070-10080 for game data, and VoiceChat. If these ports are not being forwarded to your PS2, connecting to a game will be a hit-or-miss battle and VoiceChat will not function at all.


UDP ports 6000-6999 will need to be forwarded in addition to TCP ports 10070-10080. It would seem that game data is passed on ports TCP/10070-10080 and voice communication travels on UDP/6000-6999.

now,which ports should i open so i could play it?? (in the *configuration* menu)
and,in the Advanced configuration,should i activate both options,TCP UDP ?
________
vaporizer volcano
Last edited by ranma on Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ranma
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:41 pm

Postby CyberVenom » Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:21 pm

If the game behaves and actually connects properly to IP addresses, the only things that should need to be tunneled through GIT will be the UDP broadcasts, since theese will not find their way past your router on their own.
As a first test, I would suggest entereing all the port ranges you mentioned for UDP into the GIT configuration. Also, if you are behind any sort of NAT, you will need to enter your PS2's local address as well as the external address it gets NATed to in the Advanced Configuration screen. (That would be, internal address, e.g. 192.168.0.2 in the NAT From field, and the external address in the NAT to field.)
If your external IP is dynamic, and you need to find out what it is currently set to, you can visit this page on my site:
http://myip.sablesoftware.com
Also, you will need to make sure that the firewall/router that is performing your NAT forwards incoming packets on all of the mentioned ports, (TCP as well as UDP) to your PS2 on the inside.
If you are not using NAT, but have a firewall, you will need to allow direct connections from the outside to your PS2 on the mentioned ports.

I don't have SOCOMII myself, so I cannot test this, but this should be an appropriate setup.

-CyberVenom
CyberVenom
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:03 pm
Location: Ontario, California

Postby CyRuS » Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:58 pm

OK has anyone been able to get Socom 2 and GIT to work. Noone hacs replied back to this post in awhile. My friends and I are trying to get it to work also. HELP.
CyRuS
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:54 pm

......

Postby ranma » Mon Mar 01, 2004 6:31 am

yes Cyrus,i am still trying,..but i doesnt want to work for me! :cry:
but still,..keep trying,maybe it will be possible one day... :wink:
________
Mercedes-Benz O405 history
ranma
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:41 pm


Return to GIT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron