Promiscuous Mode? - Help!

Gamer's Internet Tunnel, formerly Gamer's IPX Tunnel

Promiscuous Mode? - Help!

Postby sterrynet » Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:37 am

I am trying to play RISK II with a friend using GIT. Whilst his download and installation of GIT/WINPCAP appears to have succeeded, every time i try to run GIT, i get the message "failed to set device to promiscuous mode".
I have tried installing, uninstalling, booting and rebooting, but the same message is always there.
I am running a PC and a Laptop on Win XP. Both PC and Laptop have a BT Voyager 1010 USB Wireless adapter which are networked and connect to the internet via the BT Voyager2000 router/modem base station. I have tried installing etc on both laptop and PC, but the message is always there.
I am a total novice at this stuff, and so would be very grateful for any light anyone could shed on this. Thanks.
sterrynet

Postby Ark » Fri Apr 23, 2004 11:49 am

Either you did not select your network adapter in advanced config or your voyager thing simply does not support all the neccessary functionality to use GIT. You should try a real hard-wired networkcard, or try upgrading the drivers for the usb wireless adapter.
Ark
Site Admin

same problem - Warcraft 3

Postby EsIstJazz » Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:21 am

Hi there,

I do have the same problem with Warcraft 3.

Git-099b4
WinPCap3
WinXP SP2, with Gigaset USB Adapter 11 for WLAN

What really surprises me is that, it worked one time after the first installation without any problems.
The next day after booting it always gave me the same error message:
"failed to set device to promiscuous mode"
Of courseI tried "reboot/deinstallation WinPCap/reboot/reinstallation WinPCap/reboot". Actually I tried it with and without any beta of GIT and/or WinPCap. Nothing seems to help...
So if somebody knows a solution, please post.

cu
Jazz