does git work for splinter cell pt

Gamer's Internet Tunnel, formerly Gamer's IPX Tunnel

does git work for splinter cell pt

Postby mmzch3s9 » Mon Mar 29, 2004 12:57 am

has anyone goten online using git fot splinter cell pt. I am new to this lan stuff is any internet lan able or is it a special type. Also If annyone has gotten splinter cell pt can you please post your configurations thank you
mmzch3s9

Postby stargatenow » Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:57 am

stargatenow

Postby Ark » Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:28 am

That is one of the most inefficient ways to set up GIT, regarding the lines telling you to:

- forward 'all well-known' IPX sockets
- forward 'standard' TCP/UDP ports
and
- look into which frame types: everything except SNAP

For starters, games typically only use IPX *or* TCP/UDP, not both.
You never want to forward all ports either, unless you are testing to find out what port a game uses, in which case you want to enable the logging options and find out what ports to use, then use just those ports.
Also, the frame types will effect whether or not your connection works - TCP/UDP only use Ethernet II (D.I.X. frame types) while IPX can use any of those 4, and depending on the version of windows a computer is using, the default setting of 'auto' may use 802.3 or 802.2. If two computers are using different frame types for IPX, they will never be able to communicate via IPX, even if they are on the same LAN, so they definately won't be able to via GIT. It is always recommended to manually set each computer to use 802.2 frame types, and then only use those in GIT.
Ark
Site Admin

Postby poseyjmac » Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:18 pm

TCP 40000 to 43000 included
UDP 44000 in input/output
UDP 45000 in input/output
UDP 45001 in input/output
UDP 7776 in input/output
UDP 8888 in input/output

there are the ports that PT needs for internet play, but do we need to forward these on our routers or just forward them in GIT
poseyjmac

Postby Ark » Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:27 pm